October 1, 2012

  • Induction Process Part 2

     

    Dear Bubbly,

    Time for round 2 of the induction process and we got to the hospital at around 10:45pm. The nice nurses ushered us into a room and then we sat around waiting for the resident to come see us and administer the 2nd dose of Cervidil. While we were waiting, mummy was hooked up to the baby monitor to monitor your heart rate and movement. I did let the nice nurses know that you are normally very active around this time of night and sure enough you put on a show and your heart rate was spiked up a lil bit.

     Just shortly after midnight, mummy informed the nurses attending to me that I felt some leakage and that this has never happened before. I was to find out later that my water had started to rupture. So while we were sitting and waiting in room #4 in the assessment and induction unit, there was a flurry of activities and nurses were coming and going. Daddy and myself settled in for a long wait and both of us fell asleep till about 3am when we were ushered into the labour and delivery ward. As we walked to the labour and delivery room, I did a quick look around the admission and induction ward to realise we were the last two people there. 

     As I settled into the bed (that was definitely more comfortable than the one I was lying on in the admission and induction ward), we were inform that I was most likely going to be administered the 2nd dose of Cervidil and sent home for another 12 hours. At this point in time, I have yet to have either a resident or doctor examine and attend to me after being in the hospital for 5 hours. Your Daddy had wanted to go to work still if Mummy were to be sent home to wait another 12 hours, so he left to go home and Mummy would just grab a cab home once the 2nd dose of Cervidil was administered. 

    Finally at around 4:15am, the resident on call came into the room and examined Mummy. When she removed the 1st dose of Cervidil from Mummy, it was then confirmed that my water had broke and that Mummy would not be going home till you were born. A quick call to Daddy to let him know what was going on, he called work to let them know what was happening, showered and dressed and drove back to the hospital with mummy’s hospital bags.

    We were really hoping to be seeing you soon, at least within the next 12 hours. 

    Love,
    Mummy

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories