Month: January 2011

  • Part-time Student ...again ....

    I'm still alive and since my last post, i've add the title of part-time university student to the many hats i'm wearing in life. Although most of the my experiences with the university have been frustrating, i.e. am getting passed around, getting confirmation on credit transfers, essentially anything that has to do with paper and administrative work. But i've met some really nice ladies in my class and as much as i would like to be exempted for most of the classes/courses, i do miss hanging out and getting to know these ladies.

    I had my dreads about going back to being a part-time student with a full-time job - the no social life after work, going for classes and missing out on my favourite TV shows, that and coupled with the fears about going back to school as i have never been the academic type. I'm the one who would prefer projects and presentations rather than sitting for days on end trying to churn up a given number of words essay. I've always been an average student. Never one of those straight As or even Bs kinda student. But somehow that motivated me to want to do a lot better than i have ever did before.  The blood, sweat and tears of not having any form of social life for a month for my very first class paid off though - i walked away with an A as my final grade. 

    There were a couple of firsts during the process of this new adventure that surprised and shocked me;

    1. This is the first time i would be paying for my education on my own without any financial support from Daddy. Yes, it would come to a surprise for a lot of my friends. But i've never had to worry about paying for school and i am really thankful and blessed for that. But yes... am finally learning to stand on my own two feet.
    2. My lecturer actually said to me that he really liked my style of writing. Really??? My style of writing??? No lecturer has ever hinted to me that i had some decent writing skills so to me that was a huge compliment and it also made me more confident about my abilities to hand in a good essay.
    3. I remember looking at my fellow classmates (You know who you are. :D ) who camped out in the labs with a certain lecturer trying to get pointers and feedback on their many drafts for their I-Search paper and say to myself - 'I will never be one of those students!'. Guess who found herself doing the same thing with her lecturer these days? Yep, ME! *lol* I will never fully embrace the saying - "Never say never!."
    4. I actually stayed awake in class... no goofing around, no dozing off. I actually wanted to be there and not walking in 1hr later. None of that. Amazing! *l* (Hey, told you i was never the academic sort and i was never ever a model student/kid.)  

    I know there is a long, long, long road ahead of me still to where i want to and where i need to be academically in Canada. Doesn't help that i've had to gone through hoops and loops and what not to prove that my previous academic achievements and experiences are as good as the ones offered by the instituitions here. I'm trying to juggle building a career, getting the neccessary academic achievements to support this growing career path, and planning and wanting to start on the life long journey of motherhood. Trust me it's not an easy task and i salute and admire all the mothers out there who balance the many roles they play in their own lives. I guess i have to breathe and take it one step at a time no matter how much i want to just do everything at once and get it over and done with ASAP.

    Oh... and it does help that i have a very supportive husband by my side in my life. :)

Recent Posts

Categories